Skip to Content

Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Awards

The Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award honors one faculty member and one staff member for their dedication to mentoring students, faculty, or staff. Texas State University named this award in honor of Dr. Muir, the former dean of the College of Science and Engineering, to recognize her strong commitment to mentoring as a way to ensure the success of students, faculty, and staff. Each honoree is recognized at a luncheon and receives $2,500.

Demonstrated Criteria

  • Critical support that assists the mentee(s) in functioning effectively in the organization.
  • Sustained commitment to a professional relationship with an individual or individuals that results in career growth or the personal development of mentee(s)
  • Behavior, attitudes, and/or skills that aid mentee(s) in achieving competence, confidence, and professional standing.

Nominations Closed

Thank you for your submissions to the Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Awards. Stay tuned as we'll be announcing the faculty and staff winners soon!

Nomination Packet Requirements (up to 15 pages)

  • a letter of nomination and support, which should include reasons for the nomination and the period during which the mentoring occurred
  • a brief personal sketch/biography that describes the nominee’s mentoring activities and impact of those activities
  • up to four additional letters of support from colleagues, co-workers, or students

Review UPPS 04.04.36, The Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Awards for more information about the nomination process.

2023 Co-Chairs

Eric Algoe, Executive Vice President for Operations and Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Debbie Thorne, Senior Vice Provost


Judy Herington, Talent Development & Communications Representative, Human Resources

Thank you for your participation in this initiative to honor Dr. Muir’s memory and to recognize the importance of mentoring as a part of our university community.

Past Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award Recipients

Year Faculty Staff
2000 Joni Charles Mariko Gomez
2001 June Hankins Kate Robbins
2002 Fred Blevens (M) Joanne Smith
2003 Dennis Elam (M) Agnes Dreibrodt
2004 Susan Day Sherri Benn
2005 Marilyn Olson Jaime Chahin (M)
2006 Laurie Fluker Stella Silva
2007 Mary Brennan Jennifer Beck
2008 Shirley Ogletree Karen Bryson
2009 Byron Augustin (M) Jonnie Wilson
2010 Kenneth Margerison (M) Jesse Silva (M)
2011 Janet Riola Hale Cheryl McWilliams Lee
2012 Linette Watkins Curt Shafer (M)
2013 Marian Houser Lanita Legan
2014 Diann McCabe Iliana Melendez-Burciaga
2015 Rodney Rohde (M) Keylan Morgan (M)
2016 Patti Giuffre Skyller Walkes
2017 Harvey Ginsburg (M) Toni Moreno
2018 Bahram Asiabanpour (M) Rachael Weldon-Caron
2019 Gloria Martinez-Ramos Carol Dochen
2020 Caitlin Gabor Michelle Sotolongo
2021 Aimee Roundtree Kimberley Duncan-Ashley
2022 Clarena Larrotta Alisson Glass-Smith